Canning Suggestions

Land of Lincoln

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Hello everyone, hope you've all recouped from any over indulging you may have done over the last few days. I'm guilty of it and the seams of my britches have been screaming at me for it.

I know nothing about canning, never done it, don't know the process, nada, zilch, zero - total novice on the subject. I'd like to start learning now on the process & supplies and what not's I will need to get started so I can start preparing for next year's harvest. I saw a pressure cooker on Craigslist and that got me to thinking I should ask you all here because ya'll are the experts and I'd like some suggestions on the in's and outs of everything.

I don't know brands of canning equipment or anything like that so any input would be greatly appreciated. We do have a couple of Farm & Home stores here and I've seen canning jars there so I'm assuming they may have the supplies to get started there. I have a room sectioned off in my garage where I will be storing everything once canned so I actually have a place to store the finished product.

Look forward to hearing everyone's input. Thank you in advance.

waretrop

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
First thing. You really should make sure it is called a pressure canner and not a pressure cooker....a pressure cooker may not maintain adequate pressure to can something safely. If it is a canner just make sure the bottom is not warped. If someone used it incorrectly it may have been warped and won't sit well on the stove. The seals and all can be replaced and your extension office, Illinois have great ones, will test it for you most of the time for free. It should be large enough to fit quart jars. They do not recommend using small pots for canning...