Hi, I'm Tuco from Omaha Nebraska

Tuco

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Hello, I'd just like to introduce myself. I'm Tuco from Omaha Nebraska. I'm pretty new to the whole “self-sufficiency/self sustainable” concept and way of life. Obviously I've known about alternative energy (solar, wind, etc), but I never really thought about it much. I'm a city boy and I'd never owned a home of my own, so, creating my own energy (and growing/raising my own food) was something that I never thought about. I'd never done much gardening besides growing a couple tomato plants in the back yard. Then, when watching TV, I discovered what I later found out was called permaculture. I was intrigued! I started researching it, which led me to many other related subjects; hugelkultur, rainwater collection, gray water systems, companion planting, alternative energy etc. Then I started researching, beekeeping, rabbits, chickens, ducks, catfish, etc. I was discovering the self-sufficient lifestyle. It all just seemed to make so much sense! Growing/raising most of your own food, providing most of your own energy via solar, wind, and other methods. Ever since I've discovered this, I've submerged myself in studying/researching the subject. Like I said, I'm a city boy and I really do enjoy much of the city lifestyle (I'm a musician and a music fanatic, so I can't do without all the concerts that a larger city provides, plus a “scene” where I can hold concerts of my own) so, what I really want to do is an urban homestead, implementing much of what I've learned.

I'm not a “save the planet” kind of guy, I just really like the idea of having more freedom. Relieving myself of some of the shackles that bind me, if you will. Reducing my dependency on (high priced) utilities, groceries, etc