1. SS Picture of the Week (POW) - Submit your Pics Now !!
    Click HERE!
    (if you are logged in, this notice can be dismissed using the "x" to the top right of the notice)

Need help building a rocket stove.

Discussion in 'Do-It-Yourself Projects, Construction, Etc.' started by tonstwo, Nov 29, 2012.

1. Nov 29, 2012
    tonstwo

tonstwo Sustainable Newbie

Hi guys, this is my first post here, and I need help.

I've built a very small rocket stove and I think I may have done something wrong, since the outer part of the stove heats up and I don't think it's supposed to, and it's generating much smoke. I haven't taken much time playing with it and trying to figure out the best way to burn wood.

I made the rocket stove out of metal cans, and ash+soil+cement for the insulation. I think something's wrong with the insulation. This is my first try though, and mistakes do happen. But I sure would like to have a working, efficient and preferably self-feeding rocket stove. I also prefer it to be movable (if not portable), so laying bricks won't do.

I live in the Philippines by the way.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    k15n1

k15n1 Lovin' The Homestead

There are some tricks... Look to see what others have done. Even looking at youbtube videos for approximate dimensions can help. I had problems in the past with an undersized air intake. Doesn't seem like it should matter, but it did. Luck.
  3. Nov 29, 2012
    tonstwo

Is it relative to the size of the rest of the stove or does it just have to be big enough?
  4. Nov 29, 2012
    ~gd

~gd Lovin' The Homestead

It is relative to the size of the fire and to a lessor extent the quality of the fuel. The fact that you are getting a smokey burn makes me think it is starved for air.
  5. Nov 29, 2012
    Joel_BC

Joel_BC Almost Self-Reliant

I have not built one, but I can imagine that if I did I'd be in the same position you are, tonstwo.