Need help building a rocket stove.

tonstwo

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
Hi guys, this is my first post here, and I need help.

I've built a very small rocket stove and I think I may have done something wrong, since the outer part of the stove heats up and I don't think it's supposed to, and it's generating much smoke. I haven't taken much time playing with it and trying to figure out the best way to burn wood.

I made the rocket stove out of metal cans, and ash+soil+cement for the insulation. I think something's wrong with the insulation. This is my first try though, and mistakes do happen. But I sure would like to have a working, efficient and preferably self-feeding rocket stove. I also prefer it to be movable (if not portable), so laying bricks won't do.

I live in the Philippines by the way.

k15n1

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
There are some tricks... Look to see what others have done. Even looking at youbtube videos for approximate dimensions can help. I had problems in the past with an undersized air intake. Doesn't seem like it should matter, but it did. Luck.

tonstwo

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
Is it relative to the size of the rest of the stove or does it just have to be big enough?

~gd

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
tonstwo said:
Is it relative to the size of the rest of the stove or does it just have to be big enough?
It is relative to the size of the fire and to a lessor extent the quality of the fuel. The fact that you are getting a smokey burn makes me think it is starved for air.

Joel_BC

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I have not built one, but I can imagine that if I did I'd be in the same position you are, tonstwo.

Youtube resources have been mentioned. Here's a couple of Youtube vids by a guy who's spent a lot of time working out practical design details:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P6ValmUnjz4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yRLR07GRgvQ