Alpaca fleece

ORChick

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I got an e-mail from my friend this morning; one of her patients mentioned that she has 4 alpaca which she shears every year, and doesn't do anything with the fleeces! :th So my friend asked if I would be interested in doing something with them along with her. Of course I said yes. Now, my friend knits and such, as do I, and - years ago - I took a spinning & dying class, and still have the drop spindle (which I'm sure I could re-teach myself to use) - but other than that neither of us has had anything to do with a *fleece in the raw*. I do know a lady in town (*know* might be an exaggeration; I've met her a couple of times at the art center) who is a fiber artist, and I know she has at least one spinning wheel. She might be able to guide me towards one that I could rent, if I get that far. Any advice for a total novice?
And, I might add, if this turns out to be way more complicated than we want to deal with, I may come back here and auction them off to the highest bidder ;).
My friend will pick up the fleeces this coming weekend, and bring them up with her when she comes to visit the following weekend, so I've got almost 2 weeks to *learn everything about carding & spinning* :lol:

valmom

Crafter
Reaction score
and doesn't do anything with the fleeces!
AARRGH! :th Grab them! Even if the animals are older the fleeces are so so so nice compared to sheep wool. I LOVE my alpaca fleeces I bought. The drop spindle is easy to re-learn. I haven't even really "unpacked" my spinning wheel since we moved up here 8 years ago- I use the spindle. Much less space consuming.

Or get them and I'm sure there are people here who would love them! (not me, I have enough to spin with my two- and have an alpaca farm down the road. :D)

ksalvagno

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score