Anyone Do Home Meat Processing?

k0xxx

Mr. Sunshine
Reaction score
My wife and I have been discussing adding an outbuilding just to do our own meat processing. Mainly it would be for deer, but also for hogs, chickens, etc. As of our last discussion, we were were talking about a small building (about 12x16) with a screened, concrete patio area attached for killing, scalding, plucking, etc.

We have an offer of a meat saw (looks kinda like a band saw) with a sausage stuffer, meat grinder, meat mixer, and a couple of scales at a really good price.

We would be starting as complete beginners. Does anyone here do this, and if so, can you offer any suggestions, opinions on cost/benefits, etc., to help us decide if we really want to do this? Would a 12x16 building be sufficient?

roosmom

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
K0xxx, Most people up here do their own processing. It is only those who dont have time or cant do it anymore who send it to someone. I guess some of it would be no knowledge. ANYWAY, my 1st cousin (he works at the hospital also) does processing. He has did pigs, cows and deer. He is coming up on his busy season. When I talked to him Friday, I commented that he looked tired and he said that he did 4 deer in three days plus worked full time. He has gotten to the point he has to take time off during deer season.
I think a good processor can make money. After he builds up his reputation he can make more.
If ou have any specific questions, I would be happy to pass them on to him for you. Let me know. Good luck.

I like your avatar!!

dacjohns

Our Frustrated Curmudgeon
Reaction score
Your potential setup is way beyond what I do. Mine is all yard, garage, and kitchen processing.