Broody Hen

Country homesteader

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I have this one Buff Orpington hen that I always have to remove from the nesting box at night when I gather the eggs. She never attempts to attack me unless my cousin is with me but if he locks them in and gathers the eggs she attempts to attack him when he goes to remove her then if he succeeds without an issue she goes after him as soon as he puts her on the floor. Could it be because I talk to her before I begin to get her out and as I get her out? I haven't been around chickens that much, this Dec will be 2 years so I'm still learning.

Hinotori

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
She likes you. My hens growl at me, most won't bite to draw blood. They just complain. If my hubby tries to gather eggs he has to wear my kevlar sleeves or they will take chunks out of him.

I use the sleeves for the ones I know are mean broodies

Country homesteader

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
So far I only have one that is broody so I guess I'm lucky at this point in time. If there is other hens that are reaching that stage I don't know it seeing how I always only find the one in there with eggs under her. There might be another hen in the box but with no eggs under her. The broody hen has 2-3 eggs under sometimes I do get lucky and it will be only one.
I seen a post where a member candled an egg to see if there was a blood circle around it. I've used a flashlight which didn't show anything, so is a candle better than a flashlight? If so, what kind of candle should be used?

Denim Deb

More Precious than Rubies
Reaction score
The best thing for candling eggs is one of the small flashlights w/a really bright light. I don't even attempt to see if there's anything developing for a couple of days. Here's some info to help you determine if your eggs are developing properly.

Hinotori

Sustainability Master
Reaction score