Cabbage recipes?

patandchickens

Crazy Cat Lady
Reaction score
Making cabbage rolls yesterday left me with a hankerin' for fried cabbage (which I will indulge tomorrow, with the inside parts of the cabbage head with leaves too small for stuffing) but also made me realize that my entire cabbage repertoire is limited to these two things, plus coleslaw, plus "put some shreds of cabbage into fried rice or fried noodles or a fritatta or any other leftovers-using sort of mess".

(e.t.a. - oh, also twice-cooked pork, a chinese thing with cabbage and pork and tofu, mmmm)

So who has some good cabbage recipes to share, being as 'tis the season? :)

Pat

keljonma

Epicurean Goddess
Reaction score
I have been making this for over 20 years.... always good, very versatile, and can be adjusted to feed 4 or a small army of 45. The original recipe feeds 12 very hungry people. But, cut the veg numbers down and put a pork roast in and you've got Sunday dinner, or invite the extended family and friends for a celebratory dinner without much work, once it is in the oven. The recipe calls for smoked meats, but we found most pork meats are delicious here.

Choucroute Garni

6# bagged sauerkraut
3 c chopped onions
2 c chopped carrots
1/2# chopped bacon
3 c peeled & chopped Granny Smith apples
1 T caraway seeds
2 bottles of sparkling cider OR 2 qts broth OR half of each
4-5# assorted smoked meats & sausages
Bouquet garni consisting of:
a handful of parsley
2 bay leaves
12 peppercorns
20 crushed juniper berries

Soak the sauerkraut in cold water for 30 mins. Drain thoroughly and squeeze excess water out. Set aside.

Tie up the bouquet garni ingredients in cheesecloth or place in a tea ball. Set aside.