Cackling Ranch - A journal of things and stuff.

Ferguson K

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
For those of you that know me, you know I'm not one of many words. This is for those of you that don't.

I'm a retail store manager, and have worked very hard to get here. My husband and I raise La Mancha, Nigerian Dwarf, and Mini Mancha dairy goats. We show actively and occasionally make soaps from our girls. Mostly, though, we feed it back to the critters... we have lots of critters.

Backing up a step:

I was born and raised on a poultry farm. We raised exotics, think Emu... I had an entertaining childhood full of adventure in deep east Texas. When the Emu 'fad' blew up in the early 90's, so did my families business. Although the Emu went south the chickens, pheasant, chukar, and quail did not. In 2010 I took over the family 'business' of sorts. I had my ups and downs, and eventually 'sold out' to follow a different dream in 2013. I moved to another city with my (at the time) two best horses for work. When my Husband moved back in 2014, we moved back to the Houston area. I refound my love of poultry and imported several exotics. We had a menagerie of livestock, over 1000 birds, horses, you name it. Life happened and we downsized, keeping only a select amount of goats and 3 of our horses. We eventually picked up and sold some pigs, time just wasn't in our favor keeping them fed for the table, and finally settled back into a normal life.

Present day we have around 30ish goats, 3 (soon to be 2) horses, a bajillion dogs and cats, and a handful of chickens. We own on a small property in East Texas and are in the process of moving back to South Texas for my husband's job. I'm an active photographer, and have a photography business on the side.... I know, I'm crazy. I run three businesses! I never rest, hardly eat, and can sleep when I'm dead.

Here's a few of our loved ones! In no particular order. I could fill up pages with pictures.... but that will come.