Candle Making

The Country Girl

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Hey There Everybody,

It's me, The Country Girl. How are ya all? Deciding to make this thread... Here I am.
Well, I have been wanting a project/hobby kinda thing to do.

'Ah, ha!' I thought... Candle Making, what a neat idea. But I do not know where to start.
Not even sure when I'll start. Just preparing the items and getting ready.

Does anybody out there make their own candles? If so... What do you get, how did you learn and what do you do? Please, let me know. I hope this post not only helps me, but helps others.

Somewhere in Maine,
-The Country Girl

P.S. To make the candles fun and extra special, how would I make my very own essence out of pine or flowers? (Even fruits!) Do I sound far fetched? I am new to this!

Also- (I ramble) - If I don;t respond right away. Sorry ahead of time, I don;t check my inbox as often and I should. :D

sumi

Rest in Peace 1980-2020
Reaction score
I used to make candles, many years ago, but just for fun, nothing fancy. We melted candles and crayons (for colour) and used that wax to make new candles, reusing the wicks. I can't remember what we used as molds, but I know one technique I tried (not very successfully) was dipping the wicks in melted wax over and over and over, letting the wax deposit dry in-between, until your candle is the required thickness.

Swede

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
You first decide what wax you want to make it with, I use "paraffin wax" it's the most popular and ya get in shops.

There are many colors, you just select what one you want :)
IMG_3435.JPG

Then, shave (with a knife) the wax into shavings. Smaller chunks melt better than big ones :)

IMG_3436.jpg

Then, fill a large pot halfway with water.
IMG_3437.jpg