CFL bulbs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Denim Deb

More Precious than Rubies
Reaction score
Hubby and I were in Dollar Tree yesterday. They have 14W (comparable to a 60W bulb) 2 for $1.00. They look more like a "normal" bulb. We got a couple to try them out. At first, I didn't think to much of them. I put one in a pole lamp I have and turned it on. It was really dim. But, it warmed up, and was fine.

I'll probably get a few more. We've been replacing all of our regular bulbs w/the CFLs as they blow out. Plus, it doesn't hurt to have a few spares on hand since these will die as well.

k15n1

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
CFLs seem to have pretty variable quality. I don't know if I'd buy them from the General. I was reading about LEED or some-such certification and I guess it's been lacking in lighting. Same for LED lighting. Or so I read.

Paul Wheaton goes on and on about CFLs. Maybe he's right, maybe he's wrong. As a scientist I have to approve of anyone who makes measurements and explains their methods. Even if you don't agree with the conclusion, it's an interesting read.

http://www.richsoil.com/CFL-fluorescent-light-bulbs.jsp

k15n1

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Oh, did you write the date on the base of the bulb? I always do that now. When we first got CFLs one burned out and it pissed me off. Then I started dating them. It still feels like they fail overnight but usually it turns out that it's been years.

~gd

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
k15n1 said:
CFLs seem to have pretty variable quality. I don't know if I'd buy them from the General. I was reading about LEED or some-such certification and I guess it's been lacking in lighting. Same for LED lighting. Or so I read.

Paul Wheaton goes on and on about CFLs. Maybe he's right, maybe he's wrong. As a scientist I have to approve of anyone who makes measurements and explains their methods. Even if you don't agree with the conclusion, it's an interesting read.