Fermenting Equipment, Fermenting in Jars

tortoise

Wild Hare
Reaction score
I am new to fermenting. I do not like fermented food but I like to try new things!

I plan to ferment in 1/2 gallon wide mouth jars. I have weights and airlocks. I'm confused about the primary and secondary followers. I'm curious how others set up their jars for fermenting.

frustratedearthmother

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
Oh my - I am very basic. I've made sauerkraut and kimchi and I've never used an airlock... I think I have one somewhere though, lol. I make kimchi more than sauerkraut. I use a 1/2 gallon mason jar and just make sure all the ingredients are covered with the brine. I've rarely even used a weight. If I do, I just put water in a ziploc bag and drop it in the jar making sure it covers everything. After that I put a paper towel over it and a canning ring carefully over the paper towel and set it back on the counter for 3 or 4 days.

tortoise

Wild Hare
Reaction score
Oh my - I am very basic. I've made sauerkraut and kimchi and I've never used an airlock... I think I have one somewhere though, lol. I make kimchi more than sauerkraut. I use a 1/2 gallon mason jar and just make sure all the ingredients are covered with the brine. I've rarely even used a weight. If I do, I just put water in a ziploc bag and drop it in the jar making sure it covers everything. After that I put a paper towel over it and a canning ring carefully over the paper towel and set it back on the counter for 3 or 4 days.
Plastic bag with water or pebbles sounds easy. I couldn't picture it. Does the whole bag fit inside of the jar? How full is your 1/2 gallon jar before you put the bag in?

frustratedearthmother

Sustainability Master
Reaction score