Goat cheese question...again

Dace

Revolution in Progress
Reaction score
So I finally made my goat cheese.....it is good but the mouth feel is not what I was hoping for.

I like a nice rich creamy mouth feel, mine is sort of dry. I assume this has to do with the fat content of the milk. Am I right?

Is there anyway to play with it to make a richer creamier mouthfeel? Like maybe add some heavy cows cream? I know the protein and fat structure are different so I don't know if that works.

Any ideas?

Neko-chan

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I don't know. My attempt at goat cheese was a bit of a failure (well, a lot of a failure really, but then, I was making halloumi, and that's more of an intermediate cheese, and I'm still a beginner.) I've made a "cream cheese" from regular cow's mik "farmer"s cheese" by giving it a good whipping with a fork while the curds were still a little damp. You might try whipping a small amount of your goat cheese with a bit of goat cream or milk, and it might make a creamier texture. I'm not sure of your method or recipe, but perhaps it was drained too long as well. That would also make it dry.

:idunno

Good luck! Hopefully someone has a better answer than I. :p

Dace

Revolution in Progress
Reaction score
Thanks Neko.
My local cheese lady said....don't hang it so long ( I didn't let it drain very long, but I did squeeze it because I am impatient.) and that I could add a little heavy cream to fatten it up a bit and hopefully get the rich texture that I crave. I'll update later after I try it.

I also made a ricotta from the whey, which tastes like.......

Goat cheese.

Duh.

I gots a lot to learn.

Neko-chan

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
You and me both. I hope to master mozzarella cheese before I move on, but I would love to learn how to make things like brie/camambert, sharp/aged (typically called "tasty" down here) cheddar, and things like parmesan, or manchego. I just love cheese. I'm a psycho cheese nut. :p