Hello!

scrambledmess

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I was directed here from a member of backyardchicken forums. We are a homeschooling family of five (ds11, ds10, dd6, and twins 1) looking to become more self sufficient. We started there looking to add chickens to our backyard. With the current economic crisis, DH is finally on board with the chickens AND is wondering what more we can do to reduce costs and help make it so our family will survive even if he loses his job.

I don't think we would hurt as bad as others as I also work part time as an RN in a small ER. I know I would NOT have problems finding more work However, even if I did, I couldn't match him, KWIM?

Our goal this winter is getting our yard ready for the chickens and a garden in the spring. We also want to utilize our fireplace (which we have never used) for the winter. Those are the baby steps so far!

We live on a half acre in town. I have been told there are no ordinances about livestock in town. Though we live right next door to the mayor, so I wouldn't want to push it to be the one responsible for new ordinances, again KWIM

I hope to learn alot from you all

Quail_Antwerp

Cold is on the Right, Hot is on The Left
Reaction score
Welcome to Sufficient Self! You will find alot of information here.

I am a mom to five, too and we also homeschool :)

Homesteadmom

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
Welcome, I agree with Tanks, baby steps are the best way to go so you don't feel over whelmed by everything.
Do you cook from scratch? bake your own bread? Grind your own wheat? Those are steps you can take now to help cut costs.
We homeschool too. Again welcome & jump right in.

scrambledmess

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score