Homemade White Vinegar?

urban dreamer

I wanna farm
Reaction score
Dose anyone have any idea on how to make white vinegar? I use it for cleaning, and although it's cheap, I would like to know how to make it. Thanks!

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
It is a distilled grain product, unlike other vinegars, which start with some form of wine. I don't know if it can be made at home. You can also use ACV in the same way, for cleaning, and that can be made at home.

~gd

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
urban dreamer said:
Dose anyone have any idea on how to make white vinegar? I use it for cleaning, and although it's cheap, I would like to know how to make it. Thanks!
Well as a chemist I will tell you that it can be distilled off from apple cider vinegar. As a practical man I will tell that it is not worth the effort and danger. If pressed I would try diluting white ethanol down to a strength where the "mother" isn't killed off by the alcohol and let it ferment to white vinegar. again as a practical man I would buy the darn stuff it is usually cheaper than any other vinegar!

urban dreamer

I wanna farm
Reaction score
I know it's dirt cheap. I was just wondering if it could be made at home or if anyone did make it at home. Can you use acv and white vinegar interchangeably? Like using acv for making pickles? Would the pickles taste like apples? :sick

patandchickens

Crazy Cat Lady
Reaction score
It is cheap these days because it is made mainly thru chemistry performed upon unsuspecting starches, rather than by wholly-biological processing of fruit sugars ;)

In principle you could make your own white vinegar by making alcohol (wine, beer, whatever), then distilling it to clarify and remove the flavor-containing compnents, and then inoculating it with a vinegar mother.

In practice I can't really see why anyone would want to bother doing that at home :p