how to store ammo?

the funny farm6

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
We have several guns we are trying to stay with 3-4 types. We have 2-22 pistols, 2- 22 rifles, 1- 357, and 2- 12 guage, looking for some 20 gauge. But my question is, we are now buying ammo. What is the best way to store the ammo. I was looking at small ammo boxes but we would need many of them. Is there a better/cheaper way? Also how long will it stay good?

Big_White

Power Conserver
Reaction score
:pop i am also interested in proper long term storage of ammunition. Will definitely watch for answer

SSDreamin

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I am no expert - that is DH's area, but he has always stored his ammo for his hunting rifles in ammo cans with silica gel packs. He says ammo will stay good forever, as long as it stays dry. :idunno

hqueen13

<Insert Snazzy Title Here
Reaction score
My other half who got his first gun at the age of 12 says "cool dry place." gee, that sounds like canned food storage! :gig
Seriously, really that is all there is to it, I guess. He keeps his in military ammo cans, 50 caliber and 5.56mm SAW cans, which work pretty good, and are air tight (so long as the seal is good). Each can holds approximately 1000 rounds (boxed) of 9mm, 700-800 rounds of 45 caliber boxed, or 1200-1500 of 5.56 boxed.
Since ammo is very heavy, it might be good to invest in boxes that way it isn't too difficult to rotate ammunition by keeping the boxes organized. Once the box is empty, it gets refilled and moved to the back of the line, and the oldest moved up to be opened for use.

THEFAN

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Like we always say " Keep your powder dry!!"

Ammo cans Legos for big kids. :) Stack em high and stack em deep. :)

IMHO everyone should have a 223 in there collection.

the funny farm6

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score