How to stretch a stew?

inchworm

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I'm kind of new at this whole leftover thing.....

I have 4 cups of beef stew leftover. Mainly the beef broth, tomatoes, onions, carrots, and some potatoes. The meat is all gone. How can I stretch it into a second meal for 4 people? I'm going to brown some ground beef and dump it in and serve it with fresh bread. But I think I need to get my 4 cups closer to 6 cups. What else could I add?

Thanks,
Derby

roosmom

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Is it stewy or soupy? If it is real thick, add more liquid. Add more potatoes, and add more carrots. You could throw in a bag froze peas or can of peas. Dumplings werent just meant for chicken.....there is that choice. V8 is a good choice for more liquid.

Homesteadmom

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
Add can of corn, green beans, broccoli, more potatoes & carrots is what I would do.

me&thegals

A Major Squash & Pumpkin Lover
Reaction score
How about peas? That's what I dumped in my kids' stew this morning that they're packing for lunch today :)

FarmerChick

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
yup, if thick, add water and add tons of veggies....whatever you have.

serve bread or maybe make it into a grilled cheese along side...that is a filler and yummy.

maybe a fruit plate along side. I love to munch apple slices, cantaloupe slices along with dinner --( I may be wierd here but I like it..LOL)

or hold for lunch

if Tony is off work and home, I hold "smaller" leftovers that can't be stretched as lunch. still a good money deal even if it isn't covering dinner time.

ScottyG

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score