learning how to provide some healthcare for the family

heatherlynnky

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Ok well once upon a time mom or grandma did most of the doctoring and I am not so sure that was a bad thing. Knowledge is great but all these medicines and chemicals we put in our body seems to be making things worse instead of better. There is also the looming healthcare issues we are facing also. So what are you learning to deal with these issues? Anyone studying natural medicine? Suggestions on books or courses to take? How about diets? We have started to try to clean up our diet and hopefully that lessons the need for me to be doctoring but I still want to be ready.

Right now I am learning reflexology and accupressure. The accupressure I am studying on my own some but I also go to a nurse that does this and she is great about teaching too. I had my doubts but I had such a great response I am a bit sold on accupressure. Ok so thats what I am doing right now. I dabble in aromatherapy. Light dabbling at best. I do use herbals but again its dabbling. I want to be able to provide for and encourage the continued health in the family. My parents are relatively healthy. My dad does have heart issues though so that worries the living heck out of me. Husband is healthyish sorta. Cholesterol could be a bit better but its not bad enough to go on meds. Kids are all pretty healthy. I have seasonal brochitis/asthma issues that right now I am controlling completely with herbs and diet. Just shy of 10 months since my last steroid treatment and I am really trying to avoid the poison. Anywho just curious what everyone else is studying and doing on this? My husband assigned this problem to me so I think me and my DD are going to be learning a good bit of this together.

baymule

Sustainability Master
Reaction score