Making and freezing home made yogurt, freezing milk

madbrain

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Last friday, I got a Euro cuisine YMX650 yogurt maker. It can make up to 7 6-oz cups of yogurt at a time.
I have made a couple of batches so far, with both whole milk and nonfat milk. The manual says the yogurts are good for only 8 to 10 days in the refrigerator.

I am new to making yogurts and have a number of questions :
1) Can home made yogurt be frozen ? And if so, how long would they keep ?
2) Same question about preservatives as for ice creams - are there any, preferably natural, that I can add to them to extend their life, especially in the freezer ?
3) the yogurt maker came with 7 glass jars which have a convenient calendar dial plastic lid to set the expiration date. Additional lids are relatively expensive - about $25 on amazon with shipping.
Does anyone know a cheaper source for similar jars that would fit the yogurt maker ?
4) Making yogurt requires milk. The best price I have found on milk so far was at costco. On saturday, 2 gallons of nonfat milk was $4.79 . 2 gallons of organic whole milk was $9.99 .
There are only two of us at home and 2 gallons is too much. Neither of us drinks milk, so it would only be used for making yogurt or ice cream.
In the refrigerator, the milk will expire within about 10 days. I have read posts from forum members about freezing milk. How long will milk keep in the freezer ?
5) Making yogurt requires a starter. The manual recommends about 6oz of starter for each batch. I used some Mountain high that I had purchased from Costco . I could use my own yogurt as starter later, but it's only recommended to be done for one generation in the manual, so it is not practical. Can I freeze the store yogurt to reuse as I make new batches each week ? And if so, how long would they keep ?