Maple Syrup Turned Hard?

Sunny & the 5 egg layers

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I made maple syrup a couple weeks ago using sap from the trees in my backyard. I boiled it down, strained it and poured it into a glass jar. I put it in the fridge and ever since it has been hard as a rock! I wanted to use it on my pancakes tonight, If I can make it back to liquid is it okay to eat? I placed the jar in a bowl filled with hot water in hopes to make it back into liquid form. What happened that made this so hard?

~gd

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I am no expert on maple sugar but it sounds like it crystallized. You don't see this much on commercial maple because they usually quit right after the sugar content reaches the legal limit to be sold. you probally went a bit farther. you could try adding small amounts of water after you have melted the 'rock'.

Rarity

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I've heard of maple sugar candy... so maybe just heating it gently will melt it back? Like you do with honey when it candies.

Joel_BC

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I think gd~'s explanation is about right. Probably you simmered it down until it was a bit too thick - though that can admittedly be hard to tell when you've been simmering it. Because when the liquid is hot, it's runnier. It cools off and gets more viscous, even at room temperature. Then you put it into the fridge and it gets solid.

I had a similar problem this year. I just have one maple tree of the variety worth tapping. I was going to take a few gallons of sap and make a small amount of syrup. When I tapped, the early sap flowed, and I collected about a gallon without too much trouble. But since the weather was in flux, the slow-dripping sap flow actually stopped for a couple days.