Need Imput on Ceiling Fans

sylvie

Recycled Spunk
Reaction score
I have a very high ceiling great room. Of course that's where the heat goes. Many on here have said a fan will make a difference. Now I am shopping for one and am stumped.
Do I need one great room sized ceiling fan or two large room sized fans? One 68" or two 52" fans?
It/they will be mounted on a beam(s) 13' high- about midpoint between ceiling and floor. No need for an extension rod from what I've been told. Unless I was told wrong, of course.

What should I be looking for?

DrakeMaiden

Sourdough Slave
Reaction score
I'm no expert. I would think that one large fan would be best. If you had two, wouldn't they potentially interfere with each other's wind moving action (yeah, real technical vocabulary here)? I think one would be a simpler solution. JMO.

sylvie

Recycled Spunk
Reaction score
DrakeMaiden said:
I'm no expert. I would think that one large fan would be best. If you had two, wouldn't they potentially interfere with each other's wind moving action (yeah, real technical vocabulary here)? I think one would be a simpler solution. JMO.
Yeah,I wish I knew the answer to that.

Wolf-Kim

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I would stick to the one biggest fan.

We had a large den in our old house, it was a converted garage, it had a single fan and it did the job just fine. :)

I would think that 1 fan would be more energy efficient than two.

sylvie

Recycled Spunk
Reaction score
I have read that the slightly smaller fans have higher speeds than the largest fans in a review. The reviewer felt that was a problem for his application(similar to mine) and would have preferred a larger fan with the higher speed of the smaller.
The sales guy at the big box store said I could go with either 1 or 2. That's why I am on here asking those who have fans. :rolleyes:

dacjohns

Our Frustrated Curmudgeon
Reaction score