Okay smart pig people I have a question....

rebecca100

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Well it is my first time to have pigs, but not my dh's, but he doesn't really worry about it. He just looks in at them and says "Yup, there still pigs." Anyway, they are 2 gilts, I think about 5 months old and I think they are Yorkshire(guess). We keep them on a large stock trailer where we can wash out the poo and they don't smell as bad. they look to be in good shape and are getting tall and long, but when I taped them they only weighed about 80 lbs. Isn't that really really small for a pig that age? They don't look skinny at all, maybe they aren't growing? I feed commercial pig grower and scraps from the grocery store. Are they just small or does it sound like they are average? (btw they don't LOOK small to me, but I'm not an expert by any means)

ohiofarmgirl

Sipping Bacon Martinis
Reaction score
we've noticed that pigs (just like all other babies) tend to grow in fits and starts. when we got to a point where their growth leveled off, we just poured on the protein.

you can feed them COOKED eggs, milk etc. you can also add some Calf Manna or get a bag of pig starter (higher protein than pig grower).

do you have pix?

i'm trying to think of what ours were at that age.... i think ours were bigger at that point. have you wormed them?

:)

big brown horse

Hoof In Mouth
Reaction score
Are you sure your "tape" is accurate?

How tall are they? Up to you knee etc. Typically they should be gaining 2 lbs per day. A five month old should be well over 80 lbs, right?

Sounds like you are doing all the right things, I'll bet your tape is off.

Pix would really help! :)

rebecca100

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score