re-canning food from #10 cans? can this be done?

newbskywalker

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
Hi, im new here :) I was wondering if someone could tell me how to pressure can green beans & corn from a number 10 can. I am EXTREMELY new to all this, I got a pressure canner for Christmas and don't have a garden yet. I can get corn & green beans in #10 cans much cheaper than I can buy single cans for and I need very quick dinners most nights.

Can this even be done? Ive heard it can but im confused on why things get soft when you can etc and Im wondering if the corn or green beans would be mush after re-canning?

Thanks in advance!

k15n1

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I've read that it's generally not worth it. At least, that's what the NCHFP [1] says. That's probably based on a typical situation, so check and make sure their conclusion is right for your case.

1. http://nchfp.uga.edu/

moolie

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
newbskywalker said:
Hi, im new here :) I was wondering if someone could tell me how to pressure can green beans & corn from a number 10 can. I am EXTREMELY new to all this, I got a pressure canner for Christmas and don't have a garden yet. I can get corn & green beans in #10 cans much cheaper than I can buy single cans for and I need very quick dinners most nights.

Can this even be done? Ive heard it can but im confused on why things get soft when you can etc and Im wondering if the corn or green beans would be mush after re-canning?

Thanks in advance!
:welcome

I've re-canned tomato paste from #10 cans, but it's already mush--I'm thinking veggies would get pretty mushy.

The reason veggies get soft when you can them is the same reason they get soft, then mushy if you cook them too long--prolonged heating breaks down the fibres and kills off many of the nutrients.

TanksHill

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score