Suburban Off-grid living

S

sunsaver

I am living off-grid in a typical blue-collar nieghborhood. My house is an old farmhouse that i moved onto an acre sized, wooded lot, right in the middle of the nieghborhood, much to the dismay of my nieghbors. But now it is the prettiest house around, with a screened porch, white picket fence, tin roof, and a rusty stovepipe sticking out the side. I keep the front garden colorfully landscaped with edible ornamentals, and a rustic, drystacked stone wall. God has truly blessed me, and i have worked hard to paint a storybook picture onto the hardscape of my small piece of the american pie.

But one day a lady from the power company was very rude to me on the phone. It made me mad. I also got tired of the lights going out every time we have a thunderstorm. So, i studied solar power design for a year, and i designed an expandable solar system with batteries for night time use. To be successful, I had to make significant lifestyle changes, and dramtically reduce my energy consumption. Also; if i had been married, my wife would not have let me ditch all of her highpowered appliances. Nor would she be willing to wash my clothes in an old fashioned washtub, even if it does have indoor plumbing. I also have to keep the icebox full of ice, and do my dishes by hand as well. Aside from that, i dont feel i am depriving myself of anything. I have a very low power, 30watt 15 inch HD tv, free over the air HD network and public tv programming. I use led lights that are 2watts each, and my lights never go out during thunderstorms!

Im hoping to help other people who want to live a more sustainable lifestyle. I'd also like to meet other people who live off-grid solar. I've never met anyone else who lives completely off-grid, so i'd like to share and learn from them, if there actually are any off-gridders out there. I guess they're so hard to find because, well, they're off-grid!

savingdogs

Queen Filksinger
Reaction score