Tankless Water Heaters

allterrainwarrior

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
My wife and I recently bought a tankless water heater and it is everything that it was said to be. We live in a 1907 Greek Revival and our electric bill went from $218 a month to $160, during this summer. We expect it to be lower this fall. Has anyone else had any luck with a tankless.

If you haven't heard much about them, how they differ from your regular water heater is that it only heats the water when you are ready to use it; unlike your regular water heater that runs 24 hrs a day. This results in savings in your electric or gas bill up to 30% a month and the great benefit is you never run out of hot water, Its amazing!!

Any thoughts??

k0xxx

Mr. Sunshine
Reaction score
I have no experience with them, however we are planning to install one in the coming year.

PotterWatch

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
We had a tankless heater put in as part of our remodeling efforts. I LOVE that it takes up very little space, just fits into the wall between two studs. It sticks out of the wall on the outside a couple inches, but we bought the housing to put it in, so all you see is a smooth metal box (like an electrical box). I really, really like that I never run out of hot water. I can run the dishwasher, washing machine, and both showers all at the same time if I want and I won't run out of hot water. We can't compare bills, because we didn't live in this house when it had a regular water heater, but I know our bill is less than at our old condo.

heatherv

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
So what's the average price of one of these?

pioneergirl

Wannabe Pioneer
Reaction score
My BIL put one in his hog barn for use with the power sprayer and sanitization...he loves it!!

FarmerChick

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score