what foods have you never tried?

CJW

Power Conserver
Reaction score
lorihadams said:
After researching some GF options I am finding a lot of foods I have never tried before in recipes.

I have never tried leeks, kale, collards, fennel, sushi, quinoa, millet, amaranth, polenta, kohlrabi, beets (other than pickled) or their greens, goat cheese, truffles, spaghetti squash, jicama, lemongrass, a ridiculous amount of cheese types and countless others.

I am trying to make it a point to include some unfamiliars in my diet now.

So, what foods have you never tried but want to?
Leeks-pretty good
kale, collards, fennel-haven't tried. I like my lettuces!
Sushi-never have, never will (ok, never say never...) but no thanks, I'll pass!
Quinoa-Good-I want to eventually make noodles from the flour---very high in protein
millet, amaranth, polenta, kohlarbi-havent tried, but I have fed my birds millet!
beets-no thanks...btdt...won't do it again, unless it was a puree and hidden in foods.
goat cheese-the semi hard stuff is pretty good. i just picked up soft cheese today that I haven't opened, along with sheep cheese. Sheep cheese is surprisingly better than goat cheese.
Truffles-haven't tried, probably wont-too expensive
spaghetti squash...I have one waiting for me to bake....terrified no one will like it, including myself.
Jicama. AWESOME. Looks like a potato in texture, but it's crisp and tastes like peas. Best served cold, peeled, and cut into fries. I love it raw! I am going to try to grow it, but our season might be too short.
Lemongrass, I have tried it in foods, but never made it myself. Its good.

I haven't tried a lot of mushrooms. I am not a fan of them.

Also, Duck, Goose, Pheasant...haven't had the chance. Also, brains, tongue, stomach, etc of animals. Um...no.

Most asian food. It isn't my favorite, so I don't go out of my way to try it...but Indian foods-especially curries...OH MY!

Henrietta23

Yard Farmer
Reaction score