What to do with goose feathers?

framing fowl

On a mission
Reaction score
This morning my neighbor knocks on the door wearing his camo and asks if I want a goose. Heck yeah I want a goose! Do I want three geese? In for a penny in for a dollar. So I've got 3 Canadian Geese that I'm getting ready to pluck. Do you still dip them in boiling water to get them ready to pluck like a chicken and then dry the feathers? How do you save the down?

Blackbird

Goat Whisperer
Reaction score
We pluck first, then process - none of the boiling water thing. They usually come out pretty easily anyway. But I'd assume by now you've already got them in the oven.. LOL

framing fowl

On a mission
Reaction score
Funny BB... I wish they were in the oven! They take FOREVER to pluck, or maybe I'm just slow because I've never done this before. I'll tell you what though... they sure aren't chickens :lol:

ohiofarmgirl

Sipping Bacon Martinis
Reaction score
a wise man said to me "ducks (or waterfowl) aint chickens"...and that is for sure!

wow it took forever for us to pluck one of our ducks - we gave up. now being The Worlds Worst Pluckers didnt help either...... but we gave it up and skinned them. easy peasy.

if you havent finished.. i think you can use parafin to take off the hard to get feathers. and yes, you can scald them.

let us know how it goes!
:)

framing fowl

On a mission
Reaction score
I did end up skinning one. After seeing the amount of feathers, I'm probably not going to bother saving them due to my time constraints right now.

I'm also donating the other two geese to another neighbor J who will skin them tomorrow with his brother and pop them in the smoker. Thank goodness they all love me. They consider us entertainment so because we make them laugh, they'll give us one of the smoked ones when it's done!