Wheat grass

dianer29

Power Conserver
Reaction score
I would like to provide wheat grass for my SILKIES ,who will not be free range . They will have 2 runs attached to their coop. I know that there are "kits",which are meant for housebound cats and are expensive. Where can I purchase the wheat grass and possibly grow it in a cat litter pan that I will purchase at one of the "super marts "?Would a "natural store" sell it? Or would I look in a garden place? I want to grow the grass in the above mentioned container. Does anyone have any further insight on what I would like to accomplish? Thank you!

TanksHill

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
I am no expert but..... I sprout the wheat I purchase and the regular store. When sprouting for bread and such I use a 1/2 gallon jar with a screen lid and soak over night. After that you rinse a couple times a day. I think peat moss is the preferred growing medium for wheat grass. Look it up on YouTube its very easy.

Maybe just spread some peat moss in you kitty litter bucket. Top with pre soaked sprouting wheat grains and water. Should do the trick.

I always say I am going to do this but have not tried it yet.

good luck, gina

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sVVvaHbUmrs I just found this, it's very basic.

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
You need to keep those sprouts up and out of the water, so if you use something like a plastic dishpan, be sure to drill lots of holes in the bottom for drainage and rinse once or twice a day. You can also use buckets or storage totes. You can often get the shoebox size ones for a dollar on sale.

I sprout barley and oats from the feed store for my goats and poultry in the winter, but have had some difficulty getting it to the green stage without mold. I sprout it just a little to increase the nutrients and protein levels. I built a grow light stand last spring, and I plan to make renewed efforts to get to green grass with that this winter.