Where you intimidated by canning when you first started?

CountryKat

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I am more of a self taught type of person. I love to read up or view on you tube or dvd to learn. I am however sort of intimidated by starting to learn canning. I am going to get over that I just dont want to make anyone sick in the process ;) . I have ordered some dvds from homestead blessings on how to can.

Please feel free to share what it was like when you first started and also if you have any tips.

Thanks,
CK

frustratedearthmother

Sustainability Master
Reaction score
I don't really have any tips....I was intimidated also. You've just gotta jump in with both feet. I started with water-bath and progressed to the pressure canner. All your doubts will vanish when you hear that "ping"! :)

Denim Deb

More Precious than Rubies
Reaction score
I was intimidated by pressure canning, and still am to a point. I haven't done enough of it to feel really comfortable w/it.

moolie

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I grew up with it so starting to can with a water bath was almost second nature. But when I my Mom first gave me her pressure canner, I was very definitely intimidated. I remembered most of what she did, but did a huge amount of research before launching into it. Ordered new gaskets, did a lot of reading, did my first run with simple old plain beans. The first couple of times I did it I sat at the kitchen table just waiting for the processing time to be up, but now (couple of years later) I'm very comfy with it all--I think it's because I found so many things to can once I got started that I've been using the canner at least every month, if not every week some months.

Like any new skill it just takes some understanding and practice, I know you'll be hooked as soon as you get comfy with it all :)

SSDreamin

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I grew up doing it too, so it was no big deal once I began doing it myself. Sorry I'm not more help.

BarredBuff