Who here cans??

Frozen Feathers

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
This is my first year canning. I have both a water bath canner and a Pressure canner that I inherited from my Gram.

So far I have made strawberry Jam...from strawberries we picked our self, woohoo! Making raspberry Jam tonight, with raspberries from our own backyard! :D And as soon as I collect enough blueberries, I'll be making them into jam too.

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
I can!! But I made freezer jam with my strawberries this year. I am saving my canning jars for tomatoes, salsa, etc.

If you do make blueberry jam, you will have to add alot of lemon juice to it or it won't set. i made it years ago, and wasn't happy witht hte way it turned out. .

It's low in something that causes it not to set well.

Good luck!

Cassandra

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Frozen Feathers, I just started last year. I'm not sure what set it off. (dh) John & I bought our first home together in 10/06. And that spring, it just came to me. I started doing it without even thinking about it, as if it were the most normal thing in the world.

I remember when I was very young, ages 4-12 or so, watching my grandmother freezing and canning. I was her little apprentice (actually, the only one of her 19 grandchildren that could pay attention and stand still long enough to help.) I also helped her make butter and tend many, many chickens. She had a milk cow, but I never learned to milk. :(

She also taught me to sew (by hand, we didn't have a machine), and quilt.

After that age, we ended up moving and my mom never got into doing that kind of stuff. My grandmother died when I was about 21 or 22. For almost 15 years, it never occurred to me to make jelly or put up tomatoes or have chickens or any of that stuff. And when we bought this house we have now, I wasn't thinking of any of that stuff at all. We bought it so our little son could go to the school we wanted.