Why would a chicken throw up?

i_am2bz

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I have a chicken in a tractor today, & when I went out to check on her she hadn't touched her bowl of feed. I put in a cob of corn & she just ignored it. Highly unusual.

(WARNING: GRAPHIC, in case anyone is eating while reading this.) ;)

I bent down to pet her, & she opened her beak & a pretty big stream of thin brown liquid came out. She walked a little way & did it once or twice more. She wasn't "heaving" (like a human), she just opened her beak & it came out. :/ I watched her for a few more minutes but nothing more. I keep watching her from the window, she's just standing in the tractor not moving.

I've never seen this before. Can you experts tell me what this could be?

AL

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
Might it be sour / impacted crop?

hoosier

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I suspect sour crop. Look over on BYC for more info. I am not an expert.

Avalon1984

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Definetely sour crop. Put her on organic apple cidar vinegar to offset the acid asap, remove food, she shouldn't eat. Gently massage her crop. There are tons of threads about this on BYC. Consider this an emergency situation.

i_am2bz

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I think sour crop is exactly what it is. I pressed on her chest & a bunch more came out. I held her upside down & pressed out as much as I could (saw to do this on a website). My, that was pleasant. :sick It also said to feed yogurt; not sure how I'm going to get her to eat it, but I'll get some this afternoon with the ACV. I'll go pick up her food now...

Avalon1984

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
i_am2bz said: