I am a chicken rookie

ScottSD

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Ok...well maybe not a "rookie". I took care of chickens when I was knee high to a grasshopper.

So it has been a while.

I am planning on going down to the local Tractor Supply and picking chicks up.

What all do I need? Feed? Heat lamp? Water tray?

I am starting with about a half dozen...going to put them in a portable rabbit cage until they are large enough for the chicken tractor (not yet finished).

I humbly offer my thanks ahead of time to the chicken experts that frequent here.

FarmerDenise

Out to pasture
Reaction score
When I get chicks, this is what I do:

I put them in a large box, cardboard or rubbermaid type. They need protection from drafts.
Line the bottom of the box with newspaper
Add some straw or wood shavings (I always forget which woodshavings are bad for chickens, so someone else will have to tell you about that LOL). The combination of newspaper and shavings makes clean up easier. I just roll the newspaper up with the shaving in the middle and toss them in the compost.

I put a heating pad on the lowest setting and wrapped in a towel in the box. They sit on it and poop on it. So I change the towel out frequently.
I also use a clip on light for heat. I put that in a different part of the box than the heating pad. I figure this gives the chicks different choices for heat. I find that the chicks like to sleep on the towel covered heating pad. You don' t want to give them an uncovered heating pad, as it may burn their feet.
The chicks will huddle together if they are cold and try to get away from the heat source if they are too warm.

You will need a shallow feeder, either homemade or storebought and a waterer with a shallow basin. I think the storebougth small waters work very well.