3way switch power and output in the same box.

CrealCritter

Sustainability Master
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
6,162
Reaction score
7,012
Points
307
Location
Zone 6B or 7 can't decide
Someone will thank me for this, eventually.

This wiring is pretty common for existing switching conversion of a single switch to a new 3way (one at each doorway).
Screenshot_20210113-205317~4.png
 

Chic Rustler

Super Self-Sufficient
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
2,335
Reaction score
2,975
Points
247
it's easier to land the home run in the light box and just take a 12-3 to each switch. saves wire too
 

CrealCritter

Sustainability Master
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Messages
6,162
Reaction score
7,012
Points
307
Location
Zone 6B or 7 can't decide
it's easier to land the home run in the light box and just take a 12-3 to each switch. saves wire too
Yep for sure you are right and that's the way I would do it for new install.

But for an existing single switch and using the existing wiring (power & switched leg) this works better. Because you can use the existing wiring and all you'll have to do is, pull a new run of 12 or 14-3 with ground to the second switch box and your in business.
 

Chic Rustler

Super Self-Sufficient
Joined
May 11, 2017
Messages
2,335
Reaction score
2,975
Points
247
Yep for sure you are right and that's the way I would do it for new install.

But for an existing single switch and using the existing wiring (power & switched leg) this works better. Because you can use the existing wiring and all you'll have to do is, pull a new run of 12 or 14-3 with ground to the second switch box and your in business.


there's alot of commercial guys that donit just like that. they take a completely separate pipe to another switch box just for the travelers. it's more time consuming, but you don't have to worry about travelers getting mixed up with the other wires because there's no joints on them.
 
Top