Basic dehydrating question

Home Maker

Power Conserver
Reaction score
I am new to dehydrating, and was wondering how much combining one can do. In other words, if I put both onions and mushrooms in the dehydrator (on different trays) will the mushrooms take on the onion flavor?

SKR8PN

Late For Supper
Reaction score
I have never tried that, but I would think that there would have to be some transfer of aromas or flavors. We have our dehydrator setting on a small attached and enclose porch off my shop. The aromas from different things, like onions or mushrooms, can be very distinct when you open the door in the morning, so I can imagine you might pollute the mushrooms with onion scent.

We always have enough stuff to dry that we fill the dehydrator with just one item, and never have a problem.

Tallman

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
I am not going to be any help with your specific problem; however, I had an active dehydrating gardener tell me that she keeps a couple of trays marked for her hot peppers and never uses the trays for anything else. As I understand it, she used these pepper trays even after washing, and some hot pepper taste developed in a tray of apples that she was doing.

Home Maker

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Thanks for your answers.

I purchased a refurbished dehydrator, and perhaps I should have purchased a smaller one. My intention is to have it full when running to save energy, but I have some mushrooms that need to be cooked, eaten or dried, etc., but won't nearly fill the dehydrator. I will just use it without filling it up.

enjoy the ride

Sufficient Life
Reaction score
Onions might be a problem because they are so powerfull-:hit