Bees

raro

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I haven't seen anything on beekeeping here. I have zero experience in beekeeping, but I have heard so much about colony collapse disorder, etc., and I have noticed that my dwarf fruit trees seem to have NO fruit on them this year. Maybe it's the very late spring, or maybe it's something else. But now that I've had my backyard fenced in and all the brambles/weeds/saplings removed, I have a completely bare, large backyard. I keep thinking that I could do bees in the far corner. On the other side of the fence is a common forest area. There are neighbors to the left and right of me (I live in the suburbs) who have no idea I even keep chickens.
Is this a farfetched idea? Anyone who keeps bees want to answer a few questions:
-Is it expensive to maintain? I know I'd have an initial investment, but I'm thinking long-term
-Is it easy to learn?
- Am I likely to get stung if I just go out to my backyard? Or is it a case of, if you leave them alone, they'll leave you alone?
-How much labor is involved in keeping bees?
I have checked out books from the library, but they're confusing and have a lot of terminology that I don't really get. It was the same with getting chickens, that I had to learn a lot from doing it. But I don't want to make as many mistakes as I did with chickens, if possible.
So any advice is appreciated!

Denim Deb

More Precious than Rubies
Reaction score
Big question I have for you is, are you or any member in your family allergic to bees? If so, you'll want to make sure you have an epipen on hand! And, if they're not already, get the allergy shots.

I know for sure you'll need a bee suit, but other than that, I don't know much about them. I'd love to own bees one day, but won't do it here. Of course, my allergist is against the idea since I am allergic to bees!

raro

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Fortunately, nobody in my family is allergic to bees. :)

Britesea

Sustainability Master
Reaction score