Canning help.

kyle

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Hello, I am new here.

Me and my wife live in Taiwan, where we enjoy a low cost of living and high standard of life. But we are moving back to Canada, where i am from, and things are crazy expensive there, and we will be earning far less money. So we are looking at cutting back costs, the biggest of which is growing our own food.

We are moving to the west coast, USDA zone 7 for temp idea.

I am sure i can grow enough food to last through teh year for both of us, though i am new to storage aside from drying. I am really interested in canning, but to be honest, am a little lost and overwhelmed by the info. Does anyone have any links to the basics? i have a fairly good idea of plant and animal biology, so it doesnt have to be written for kids, but a good start to finish resource would be amazing! interested in storing meat and plant matter, and freezer space will be somewhat limited in order to save $ on power.

Thanks for any help! I am loving these forums, learned lots, and gotten confused lots, already!

i_am2bz

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
:welcome

Many people recommend the book put out by Ball; you can find it where most canning supplies are sold, even at Walmart. That's for water bath canning.

tinkarooni

Power Conserver
Reaction score
I second the Ball Blue Book. It explains all the basic processes and gives you a ton of tips on drying and freezing too. It is full of all sorts of great recipes. I am completely self taught from that book.....(just don't let the part about boutilism and all that scare you away :D)

Good Luck

BarredBuff

El Presidente de Pollo
Reaction score
:welcome. I d like to third the Ball Blue book, good information. Anything from Canning to Drying to Freezing. Good supplies and easy to find at Wal Mart. If your growing your own food do get chickens!!

patandchickens

Crazy Cat Lady
Reaction score
kyle said: