Can't explain sudden death of 2-month-old rabbits

Tracy S

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I'm new to raising rabbits and am raising my first litter of kits to slaughter weight. They are New Zealands, 8 kits, have been weaned for several weeks. Since being weaned, their diet has consisted of alfalfa pellets, dandelions, plantain, raspberry leaves, radish greens, kale. and timothy hay. They have constant access to salt and mineral wheels, which they don't seem very interested in. I've been keeping them all in a single large cage suspended from underneath a deck. They've been thriving, absolutely no sign of illness, until this morning when I noticed two of the eight not coming to greet me as they normally do when I arrive with food. They appeared lethargic and were uninterested in food. I brought them inside and tried to give them water from a small straw. Their condition continued to deteriorate rapidly and they started to show signs of distress and loss of muscle control - both were dead within two hours.

One of the rabbits had feces stuck to it's bottom, the other did not. The only thing I could see potentially causing a sudden negative state in rabbits is heat, as we're in South Carolina, but the temps have not gotten above the mid-80s in the last couple of weeks and the area where the rabbits are kept is very shady and much cooler than the rest of the yard. The only other major change recently is we had about 4 solid days of rain, unusual for this time of year, but that ended several days ago.

The remaining six kits appear to be as healthy as can be. I am terrified that whatever killed these two kits could affect the others - I would appreciate any suggestions from experienced rabbit handlers or vets as to what may have caused or contributed to this...

Thanks in advance,

Tracy

cheepo

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I am very sorry for your loss...