Chain saw sharpening

dacjohns

Our Frustrated Curmudgeon
Reaction score
OK folks, I've searched but can't find an answer to this.

I'm not good at sharpening chains on a chainsaw. I can't seem to break the code or get the feel of it. I almost always end up getting cuts that curve to the left. I know one of the causes of this is uneven sharpening of the cutters but no matter what I seem to do I can't fix the problem.

Anyone with experience in solving this problem besides taking the chain in to have it sharpened?

gettinaclue

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
You can buy a chain saw sharpener. DH has one. I bought it for him as a gift at Harbor Freight a few years ago.

Don't ask me how it works, I have no idea. LOL I just knew he hated sharpening them with the file I saw that - asked him if he would like it (showed it to him) he said he would, got it for him - he didnt like it LOL after using it a couple of times and hasn't touched it since.

If you don't get any better answers than this pitiful one, PM me and I'll get DH to help.

SKR8PN

Late For Supper
Reaction score
If you don't get the angles exactly even, it will pull the cut to either the left or the right. I also bought an electric chain saw sharpener that is indexed so it is impossible(well for most folks anyway) to mess it up. :gig

One more thought........your bar isn't bent is it?

dacjohns

Reaction score
Flipped the bar over and it cut the same way.

This is a continuing problem of mine. I just haven't mastered the art of chain sharpening. Third saw and I still cut nice scallops to the left.

I've been trying to figure out which cutters to focus on and have been unsuccessful.

dacjohns

Reaction score
$40 or so might be a solution to frustration and trips to chain saw dealer to sharpen chains. Eight sharpenings and it's paid for.

Brodes

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score