Cheese press questions

Iceblink

Maa Maa Mama
Reaction score
Has anybody here rigged up their own cheese presses? Please tell me about it if you have. What did you use for specific weights?

And where did you get your cheese wax? How much do you go through?

patandchickens

Crazy Cat Lady
Reaction score
Someday Real Soon (tho I've been saying this for a few months now :p) I am going to make one of the lever-type cheese presses, you know, where one end is attached to a wall or whatever and the cheese is pressed under the portion near that and then a weight is hung towards the end after applying a little math to calculate appropriate weight and location on lever to obtain desired press weight. (e.t.a. - because this can be made basically for free from a little bit of scrap wood. You can just do the math to design it, or some places [www.cheesemaking.com comes to mind but I am quite certain there are others] you can spend five bucks to buy plans -- actually it is quite possible there are free plans posted somewhere on the Internet, I don't know, you might google 'cheese press plans' or something like that)

Thus far however I have been making only cheeses that require fairly modest pressing (like 10-20 lbs or less) and been using a complex junkpile consisting of several pots/kettles, some really heavy books, and some bungee-strength elastic :p Which works sort of ok but if you care a lot about exact pressing weights it doesn't allow you careful calibrated pressing.

I have cheese wax from Hoegger Goat Supply, the different mail-order sources seem to be pretty similar in prices so it doesn't seem to me like it matters a whole lot where exactly you get it from. I am going to guess that I'm using something on the order of 1/8th of a 1 lb bar of wax to do a 2 lb wheel of cheese -- that is a pretty fuzzy guess so don't be doing exact calculations off it :p but it should help you make a ballpark guess for your needs.