Chicken Questions

Dace

Revolution in Progress
Reaction score
I have a couple of questions and I prefer to ask you all over the BYC crowd :)

My coop is a playhouse, converted. The floor is dirt. There is currently wood chips down as that just happened to be what was the ground cover when we set up the playhouse.

Today I went to buy layer crumbles and the guy said I do not need oyster shell. I bought the Purina Layena brand...can any one confirm what he said?

Also I bought a bale of hay for the nesting boxes...should I toss some of that on the ground as flooring or should I use the same shavings I used when they were babies? I just want something on the ground that can absorb poo & oder that i can rake out every now and then.

lastly, the guy at the feed store says that my chickens won't lay (much) if the temp is not 90+ and that they should have a heat lamp in the coop year round. I am very new to chickens but I have done a bit of reading and have never heard that...keep in mind that my average winter temps are 40-60 and summer is 60-90.

Any advice is appreciated!

hennypenny9

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
My parents have had chickens for at least 20 years, and we never have a heat lamp unless the temperature gets below freezing. We have no problems with eggs.

We never buy oyster shells. I think they are to help the shell of the egg? So if you get soft eggs, then maybe think about the oyster shells. Of course, the first few eggs of a pullet may be soft, and that's fine. Oh, I just remembered, I think you can give them finely crushed egg shells if the shells are soft.

Um, we never like to use hay or straw because up here it will get damp and mold. If you are not in a damp climate, I'm sure it'll be fine. Heck, you can toss it in, and if you hate it, just rake it out and start with something else.

It's not an exact science, you'll be fine!

hennypenny9

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score