cooking solar experience/ recipies

detali

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
It was interesting reading all the posts under solar ovens but I think we need a thread to share our experience with solar cooking. I am new to this. I finished building my solar over about three weeks ago and have used it a lot. I have described it in another thread. There are things that I am learning that are different from cooking in the house. Here is a recipie that I like a lot.

Instant soup-almost

Before I go out to do yard and garden work for the day I put
3 cups of water into a quart Jar
add 1/2 cup total of various legumes, dehydrated veggies, rice or barley
1 tbsp olive oil
1 bullion cube
screw the lid on loosely
place in solar oven
focus the oven ahead of the sun

Round about noon I have a delicious, nutritious soup.
I add whatever more seasoning it might need just before eating.

When the family comes, I do this process is a gallon jar.

Please share your recipies and cooking tips

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
You use a gallon jar to cook in instead of a black pan in a cooking bag, like all the instructions seem to call for? Lid on tightly? I can get gallon pickle jars from a local restaurant, sounds great! I will be making mine after spring planting is all done, mid-June, likely. It has been so cold here, anyways. All the instructions say the air temp needs to be at least 70-80 in the Northern states. I like your recipe! And this thread. Hope to contribute this summer and keep this going.

detali

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
No, I don't put the lid on tightly, just barely screwed on. There needs to be a little give to let steam escape from the cooking process. I like using jars. That way I can see when things are actually boiling.