Crafting gourds for additional income

MyKidLuvsGreenEgz

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I finally have the space to plant gourds, like dipper, birdhouse, bushel basket and loofa. My hubby bought me a woodburning kit for val day yesterday (my request) so now I'm thinking ahead. Researching how to use the kit to decorate gourds for sale (so we can afford some home repairs). Maybe some simple but beautiful and unusual projects. Believe me, I'm no artist but ... surely surely surely I can come up with something my carpal tunnel hands can do with our gourds.

Thinkiing I can slice the dried loofa and dip into soap and sell those.

Wondering if anyone else here does this? Pictures? Technique? Net profit (estimate)?

MyKidLuvsGreenEgz

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
Looking at some books of intricate gourd crafting. Wow. Is it possible a non-artist person could create such amazing works of art?

Maybe woodburning something else. Small but beautiful.

Still looking for input.

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
With the loofah, just wrap the sponge in tinfoil a couple of wraps but making sure a liquid would not leak out easily, form the tinfoil to the shape of the sponge with a squeezing of the hand, and just pour your soap into this form, sit it upright in your fridge or freezer until solid, then take it out and let it sit for a little while. Remove the tinfoil and slice your soap bars that way. Makes for very cute, cross cut sections of loofah soap. You can even drill a small hole in one of the sections of the sponge/soap and place a cord in it for hanging in the shower...folks seem to like that.

pinkfox

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score