equine chicks ramblin journal

equine chick

Sustainable Newbie
Reaction score
Okay I've lurked on here from time to time. I found this forum from byc and really know it's time for us to make our homestead more self suffcient. I know it would be impossible to say totally self suffcient because I like some of the fine living things such as electricity and an occasional trip to bath and body. Some of you might recognize my name from byc and I say hello to you and others I hope to know.
The past two years I've been working hard, we had some financial trouble dh got layed off, I ended up losing a whole flock of wonderful breeder birds marans and ameracaunas thanks to my neighbors dog and times were tough. We were able to keep the homestead thanks to my job, dh got a great job and we did great for awhile but is layed off again due to our wonderful recession. I'm a Rn by trade and though I won't say I love my job where I am working I do love what I do if that makes any sense. No one appears to be hiring right now, all the hospitals are at a hiring freeze around here due to the recession and the health reform bill so I will be thankful for what I have a job and plenty of work if I want it.
I am getting some chickens this spring and got the incubator out and plan on doing some egg hatching. I'm picking up some eggs locally tommorow of ameracaunas and have some eggs I'm swapping for some soap that I make on byc.
Soap making has become a wonderful business hobby for me. It started 2 years ago by me taking a class at a local school called homesteading. A friend was interested and I sorta tagged along for emotional support. I was amazed how I loved it, how I did not damage myself and finished the 12 week class. I then tutored under my instructor for a year and got my soapmakers certification at a soapmakers convention. I sell my wares locally at fairs and work and plan on going to the farm markets this spring and summer.