ever built a green house from old house windows?

bornthrifty

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I ran into several old windows and am thinking about constructing a small green house out of them, I don't want to put in electricty (to grow all winter)

I just want to use it to winter over some vulnerable plants, and to extend my growing season,

I have some experience with green houses, in the commercial realm,

(so they used every gadget they could)

for me I am looking back at some old ways to retain heat in the hot house,

any one with experinence what do you think?

should I try to have a stone or cinder black knee wall and floors to hlep absorb the heat during the day and then hopefully have warmer nights in there, could I use sand as a floor (but that might invite critters that I don't want)

a sunken floor?

to use some of the earths heat, but I am concerned about flooding

also I have heard of people using milk jugs and such filled with water to help control the temps...

any ideas or thoughts would be appreciated, thanks so much!

miss_thenorth

Frugal Homesteader
Reaction score
I posted a link from a Mother Earth News article quite while ago about a greenhouse built from old windows. Maybe do a search?

SKR8PN

Late For Supper
Reaction score
I am using 5 gallon jugs full of water as a heat sink in the green house I am building. 5 gallons per sq ft of floor space. I'll let you know how it works out next year, as I didn't quite get it done for this winter. DARN IT!

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
Am doing the same thing, although the bulk of my glass is old shower doors. I will be using the 5 gal. jugs, painted black, also. I will be having an earthen floor and will be building it lean-to style against a white outbuilding.

Hope to start construction after the first of the year.

dragonlaurel

Improvising a more SS life
Reaction score