Garden help... What plants to Deer NOT like?

amarook

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
I'm new to gardening. This year I won't be able to have a full garden like I would like to because we have a lot of deer around here. I don't want to plant a lot of stuff only for them to eat it.

So I was thinking about maybe growing just a few things that maybe Deer won't bother so much.

I was thinking maybe zucchini would be good because those leaves can be ouchy...

Maybe pumpkins?

Potatoes?

Anyone else have any suggestions?

THANKS!
;)

Blackbird

Goat Whisperer
Reaction score
I've been told that the scent of Marigolds often keeps deer away, but haven't had marigolds in years so I have no idea anymore..

Reaction score
We have herds of deer and the bozos around here feed them. They're so cute you know. Marigolds might work if planted at about 50% of your crop. We planted about 1 every 5 tomato plants and it didn't work.

Best bet is an 8' fence or invite a bunch of hunters over.

Beekissed

Mountain Sage
Reaction score
In lean times, I haven't found a garden plant that deer won't nibble. :(

If you can find a good electric fence charger that's not too expensive(around $40 for electric, $130 for solar), you can place a single strand of wire at about 24 in. from the ground and have good results at keeping deer out. My mom has used this method for many, many years without a mishap~and her deer are in the yard around the garden each day~but no IN the garden. Something about that low level wire causes them to "nose" it before jumping or walking over it......zappo! No nibbles in the garden! :)

amarook

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Beekissed said:
In lean times, I haven't found a garden plant that deer won't nibble. :(