Gardening question

1stepcloser

Power Conserver
Reaction score
We recently bought our home and it has a HUGE backyard (well, huge by city standards). I want to get a nice large garden going next spring. I was thinking about 10'x30'. We only have lawn right now. Should I till the lawn under NOW v. waiting til spring? Our soil isn't that great but I grew a mini-garden this year and it did fabulous with manure mixed it. Should I start working the soil now?

I am new to this but very dedicated. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! :D

FarmerChick

Super Self-Sufficient
Reaction score
NOW NOW

til everything...over and over again. even tilling now might make some of the grass grow back...till again...and again and again.

And the grass needs time to rot.

So over winter it can do that.

Til like crazy and all the while add leaves, compost, critter poop (like manure etc)

It takes time to make that great soil...start right NOW!!!

Quail_Antwerp

Cold is on the Right, Hot is on The Left
Reaction score
We also till up our garden area(s) in the fall. Then we put compost on it all winter long, and during the winter, on days when everything isn't frozen solid, we do random tillings, tilling the compost under.

We do this all winter, and probably only till 1-2 times during actually winter. First good thaw of spring (usually in March) we do another serious tilling. We usually till 2-3 times in 1 week before we make our rows and start planting.

Has worked well for us. Just work that compost in!! :D

1stepcloser

Power Conserver
Reaction score
Thank you! This brings me to my next question...would you recommend purchasing a tiller? I was going to rent one as I was told I only need to till twice a year. Clearly I was steered wrong on that one.

So....name that tiller? :)

keljonma

Epicurean Goddess
Reaction score
Three things we have done that have worked well for us.