HELP- cold water washing - whites are now grey!!

warthog

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Hello all, I'm a newbie and living in Belize. My hubby and I are retired, just started keeping chickens, going out tomorrow for a few goats. Just thought I would start with a little introduction. Oh btw we are British and have been in Belize for 2 years now.

We have been in Belixze for the last two years and I have been doing my laundry in cold water and my clothes are now full of stains and the whites are a lovely shade of gray:barnie

I am using a detergent, but have gone over to using vinegar instead of fabric softener.

I would like to make our little plot (not so little 28 acres) as eco as poss, obviously start small and branch out. Any suggestions on the laundry problem please.

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
Do you dry in the sun? That will bleach things somewhat. Can you use hot water just for the whites??

Personally, I would just phase out all the whites! :lol:

:welcome

keljonma

Epicurean Goddess
Reaction score
:welcome warthog!

My sister-in-law married a Brit and lived in London for 20 years. During that time, she became a citizen and started a charity called CaringMatters for families that needed information to getting help when they needed home care. She did this in response to my brother-in-law's illness. Anyway, five years ago, she moved to Argentina where she owns a small hotel. But that is another story and enough about my in-laws. :lol:

For the laundry, hydrogen peroxide added to the wash load might help the grey dingies. We wash nearly everything in cold here and the hydrogen peroxide and white vinegar are what we use with our homemade laundry soap. Line drying in the sun should help some also.

I am looking forward to hearing about your life in Belize; and jealous of your 28 acres!

ETA the only thing I wash in hot water is our dog's bed, as a preventative to kill any bugs he might have brought in from the farmyard and pastures.

big brown horse