HELP! What do I tell the butcher??? (Pig)

Kim_NC

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
raiquee said:
curly_kate said:
I recently went through the same thing, but I just explained that this was the first time we'd ordered a pig, and the lady from the meat locker set me up with the usual order. I was disappointed because we only got 2 packs of spare ribs. My FIL does amazing work with smoking ribs, so I was hoping to have more for him to use. I also really love a good pork tenderloin, and we didn't get any of that. If I ask for these items, does it end up wasting a lot of other pork? I'll ask them about it next time, but since WZ brought it up, I thought I'd ask.

They also acted like I was crazy to request 2" chops!
Am I wrong in thinking tenderloin is part of chops? I think thats how it goes, so if you get tenderloin, I think you get ribs. If you want chops it's the tenderloin plus the ribs...or something.

I'm new to pig anatomy, so I may be wrong :) If this is the case however, and you got a whole pig butchered, I don't see why they can't pull a tenderloin from one side, and do the otherside as chops?? Someone correct me?
The actual tenderloin is a round, thin strip of meat, in two peices, along the backbone. It's also called the "backstrap" (in any animal). On any animal, it's the most tender and sought-after meat.

It sounds like you are referring to the LOIN, which is where your chops come from as shown in the diagram GPN shared. You also see this section in grocery stores as "whole loin" or "boneless whole loin". It's a much larger piece of meat than the tenderloin.

ETA: as shown in the diagram GPN shared, the ribs come from a different section of the carcass.

Farmfresh

City Biddy
Reaction score
Kim_NC said:
Here prices are $0.75 - $1.00/lb live weight. The ideal size of a market hog is 250 - 275 lbs. From a 250 lb hog you will get:
- approx 175 lbs hanging weight.