How do you all store your seeds??

THEFAN

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I'm not a novice I am always looking for better and neater ways to store all my STUFF. I am curious to see how everyone stores there seeds for the following years.

Currently I have a craftmans tool box. Started using small tackle boxes to sort them and put them in the toolbox. Then I store in dark low temp part of the house.

I am still curious if storing seeds in plastic tackle cases is doing harm to the seeds though. :( Not sure. I've heard of some plastic cases giving off gas. Maybe I'm looking into it to much. ???

Thank you all for replies ahead of time. :)

Dec 16th Boston Tea Party

freemotion

Food Guru
Reaction score
:lol: Mine are in their packets or in paper envelopes all stuffed inside a sturdy clear plastic bag that some rubber rain clogs came in. I put that on a shelf behind our coats and winter gloves and such, where it will be in the house but dark and cooler. The top of the bag does not shut tightly, so there is some air.

There is no science behind what I do, but my seeds seem to be ok. I often plant seeds that are 2-3 years old.

BarredBuff

El Presidente de Pollo
Reaction score
We store ours in plastic baggies in the freezer. Or just somewhere in the basement.

Blackbird

Goat Whisperer
Reaction score
Mine are in my closet in the plastic or paper envelopes they came in. I store them all in a cloth fold up bag. I call it my seed bag and take the whole thing out with me when I decide to plant. :)

noobiechickenlady

Almost Self-Reliant
Reaction score
In the bags they came in, then inside a coffee can, a big plastic bag and a few jars. Those are on a high-ish shelf in my pantry where my canned goods are.

bornthrifty

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
it just occurred to me that my very best stash is out in the compost pile! , lol (may take a good eye to figure out what is what, but everythings out there)

and in paper envelopes in a 4 gallon shortening tin