How do you dry your stevia?

PunkinPeep

Humble Ambitions
Reaction score
I know it's a little early in the season to start on drying my stevia, but one of the branches broke off, so i wanted to make use of the leaves.

I wasn't sure how to go about it, so i just spread the leaves on a dinner plate and put them in the oven on a low heat.

It took a long time to do. Today, they seemed dry enough, and i crushed the leaves. The residue that you get on your fingers is SO sweet! But i'm having a hard time getting it all crushed down so it will be pleasant and usable for sweetening tea and so forth.

This is my first try ever. I would love to hear your tips.

dragonlaurel

Improvising a more SS life
Reaction score
The commercial stuff is pretty processed- yours will have a bit of green flavor with the sweet. I love it. It's great in teas and cooking but I've heard it's not as good with coffee.
Don't know it that helps.

PunkinPeep

Humble Ambitions
Reaction score
I love the way it retains its green color. But i want it to be more powdery. Some of it is very very powdery, but not all of it. I don't know if i should dry it more and then try crushing it some more. ???

Wolf-Kim

Lovin' The Homestead
Reaction score
I just recently discovered Stevia and love it. Never thought about growing my own. Have to look into that.

I wonder if you could bag it with or like the tea. It'd be presweetened and ready to drink. LOL Then you wouldn't have to worry about making it dissolveable, since you would just boil it and then filter out the leaves.

PunkinPeep

Humble Ambitions
Reaction score
Wolf-Kim said:
I just recently discovered Stevia and love it. Never thought about growing my own. Have to look into that.

I wonder if you could bag it with or like the tea. It'd be presweetened and ready to drink. LOL Then you wouldn't have to worry about making it dissolveable, since you would just boil it and then filter out the leaves.