Husband doesn't want to homeschool?

chandasue

Enjoys Recycling
Reaction score
Thank goodness you all have the energy to argue the pros of homeschooling! I know people mean well but I just have to shake my head sometimes at how little people understand about the purpose and origins of the public school system... Start with reading some John Holt if anyone reads books anymore. :gig

lorihadams

Always doing laundry
Reaction score
Yeah, there are a lot of people that don't know how public schools originated...pretty interesting stuff.

My thing is this...I am going to homeschool until we decide it would be a benefit for my children to try public school or they express the desire to go themselves. I was a teacher in a public school system and it just doesn't work sometimes for some kids.

I'm supportive of people that want to have their kids in public school but I just don't think it is good for my children's personalities....my DD is a daydreamer and my son is difficult and headstrong. I know that he would probably have problems at this age and if he wants to go later on when he can sit and focus for longer periods of time then I'm okay with that, disappointed but okay.

I also don't like the SOLs here in Va, (standards of learning)...I think too much emphasis is placed on testing and not enough on the actual learning. You literally have to teach the tests....you end up missing content because you have to teach the children what they have to know for the tests and not the entire spectrum of information on a particular subject. It is just not an effective way to teach.

The thing I like about homeschooling is the flexibility it offers different kinds of learning. If your child doesn't do well learning audio or visually then you can do hands on learning. There comes a point in time when learning with manipulatives isn't time effective, even if it is better to learn that way for some and if you are homeschooled then that is an option.